PASS!

5 Apr

Exactly 11 more days for the 6th semester exams (my last semester in college) and i have to admit,I yet haven’t started studying which is now starting to make me a little tensed and anxious. Tensed because of obvious reasons. The portion is vast and this semester’s subjects aren’t all that easy what with Press Laws and Ethics and Contemporary Issues! Up until two weeks back I didn’t even know if I’d actually be allowed to appear for these exams cause I yet hadn’t cleared my ATKT (Allowed to keep term) exams which was a nightmare. I hadn’t been able to study all that well for them and i’d dreaded the results. What if I’d failed in those two terrible subjects,again?

But against all odds I had passed and that was because though I didn’t study for my ATKT exams I had put in a whole lot of effort to get into the good books of my professor who’d already failed me twice in Organizational Behaviour and Mass Media Research (not the most fun subjects). Now,I have never really been an ATKT student in my college life. After my 4th sem results were out that had been the first time I had to accept the fact that,yes,I wasn’t so lucky that semester. I didn’t get away for the sole reason that the professor who was incharge of those two subjects hated me. I’d somehow came across as a ‘stupid girl with a bad attitude’ to her. So,I’d reappeared for the OB and MMR exams along with 7-8 more students from my class and to my utmost horror i was the only one who didn’t manage to pass in my second attempt though I had studied and written fairly well for those exams. That is when I knew that just trying to get better at her subjects was not enough. When I’d got my report card about a month later I’d noticed that the marks I’d got in OB and MMR was exactly the same as I’d got in the 4th semester. 17 and 18 out of 50 respectively. (You need atleast 20/50 to pass). It was impossible that i could get exactly identical marks in my 2nd attempt. Hence,I had to make her like me if i wanted to graduate this year!

And I’d somehow managed to do that. We had this event in our college called ‘Media Rush’ for which I had actively participated and worked for and I made sure she was aware of my contributions to the event. (I’d invited a speaker for Media Rush and used my care and fuel to get some speakers till our college) And hence, the 3rd attempt at passing and clearing my backlogs had been successful and not because I’d studied and written well in my exams,no. If my professor had actually corrected my papers I’d have probably failed again. So,yes,I have learnt the hard way that being in people’s (especially if that person happens to be your professor) good books is important.

Just hope this semester goes a lot smoother than the 4th one!

Leave a comment